1867 Sanctuary at Ewing
Preservation New Jersey • 1867 Sanctuary at Ewing • PO Box 7815• West Trenton, NJ 08628

About the 1867 Sanctuary Committee
of Preservation New Jersey

The 1867 Sanctuary Committee was formed in 2012 under the leadership of its first chair, the late David K. Knights, at that time also the President of Preservation New Jersey. David's zeal, encouragement, dedication and direct experience in restoring historic properties, as well as support of the Board of Preservation New Jersey, set a high standard for the work of the 1867 Sanctuary Committee. David's passing in September 2013 was a great loss to the 1867 Sanctuary Committee, to Preservation New Jersey, and to New Jersey's historic preservation community in general. We endeavor to honor David's memory by reopening and maintaining this landmark he worked so hard to preserve and protect as a legacy.

We also owe a great deal to former Preservation New Jersey staff Ron Emrich, Stephanie Cherry-Farmer, Tiwanda White-Pinkston, and Janice Armstrong for their substantial guidance, expert support, and sustaining encouragement.

In consultation with the Preservation New Jersey Board and with the Presbytery of New Brunswick (with whom Preservation New Jersey holds a 50 year lease for the building), the 1867 Sanctuary Committee is responsible for overseeing all aspects of the restoration and operation of the 1867 Sanctuary at Ewing. In addition to facilities management, this work includes grant writing and management, financial oversight, hiring and oversight of consultants and contractors, fund raising, publicity and outreach, and planning, scheduling and supporting events and activities. Members of the 1867 Sanctuary Committee serve at no remuneration, completely and totally out of love and dedication to returning this historic landmark to use by and for the community.

Now chaired by Helen Kull, who is also Secretary to the Board of Preservation New Jersey, the 1867 Sanctuary Committee currently consists of nine active volunteers, all of whom have, and continue to, contributed substantially to this effort in many ways:

The Rev. Paul Rhebergen serves as the Committee Liaison to the Presbytery of New Brunswick.

Scot Pannepacker, President of Preservation New Jersey, is also a member of the Committee. We thank past and current members of the Preservation New Jersey Board, particularly Michael Mills, John Hatch, Megan Thomas, Michael Margulies, Jack Abgott, and Michael Hanrahan for their past and current guidance and sharing of their experience and expertise.

Preservation New Jersey also extend its appreciation to former 1867 Committee members Wayne Berens, Beth Jarvie, Judith Kennerk and Sarah Unger, each of whom moved this effort forward in so many important ways.

We also acknowledge and appreciate the work of the many volunteers, in addition to the 1867 Sanctuary Committee members, who have each played important roles in organizing, publicizing, and staffing the many activities and events of the Committee over the years. Preservation New Jersey is grateful for their time, effort, and care so freely and earnestly given toward the restoration and operation of this historic building that means so much to them and to their community.

If you would like to join our committee, or just volunteer to help on a limited project basis, please contact Helen at 1867sanctuary@preservationnj.org. Thank you!

August 15, 2015

Copyright © 2015 · All Rights Reserved · Preservation New Jersey